World Athletics Championships: Long jumper Murali Sreeshankar enters final to make history, bell tower athlete Avinash Sable also reaches final | Other Sports News

EUGENE (USA): Murali Sreeshankar Became the first Indian male long jumper to qualify World Athletics Championships final while passing the 3000m bell tower Avinash Sable Also expected to score on the first day of the competitions here.
Sreeshankar, who entered the championship as a black horse to win a medal in second place in the top list of the season, had a best jump of exactly 8m to finish second in qualifying for Group B and seventh overall.
Anju Bobby George is the first Indian to reach the World Championship jump far final and won the first bronze medal in 2003 in Paris.
Two other Indians, Jeswin Aldrin and Muhammed Anees Yahiya, failed to make it to the final round after placing 9th and 11th in the qualifying round of Group A with best jumps of 7.79m and 7.73m respectively.
Those reaching 8.15m or the top 12 from the two groups will qualify for the final round to be held on Sunday (6:50am IST).

However, Sreeshankar failed to reach the 8.15m automatic qualifying mark but made it to the final round as one of the 12 best performers. The 23-year-old had a steady record of jumping 8.36m at the League Cup in April, followed by 8.31m and 8.23m at an event in Greece and the National Championship respectively. between countries.
During qualifying, only Japan’s Yuki Hashioka (8.18m) and America’s Marquis Dendy (8.16m) crossed the 8.15m mark.
Olympic champion Miltiadis Tentoglou (8.03m) of Greece, who won a Group B qualifier against Sreeshankar, world season leader Simon Ehammer (8.09m) of Switzerland and World bronze medalist Tokyo’s Maykel Masso (7.93m) of Cuba was also among those qualifying for the final.
Sable, who has also qualified for Over the tower 3000m final in the 2019 edition, finished third with heat number 3 with a time of 8:18.75 to qualify for the final to be held on Monday (Tuesday morning in India).
He led until about midway through the race before Hailemariyam Amare (8:18.34) of Ethiopia and Evan Jager (8:18.44) of America replaced him.

The top three in each match and the next six fastest runners in three matches qualify for the finals.
Sable has had a record-breaking national record in recent times with the closest being an 8:12.48 effort while finishing fifth at the prestigious Diamond League Meeting in Rabat last month.
Toor pull out; poor show of pedestrians racing Priyanka, Sandeep
However, Asian record pitcher Tajinderpal Singh Toor withdrew from his event due to a groin injury four days ago after arriving in the US. He tried a few throws before the event but decided to skip the event because the pain still hadn’t subsided.
It was a disappointment in the men’s and women’s 20km walk with Sandeep Kumar and Priyanka Goswami, both national record holders, performing below their best.
Goswami, who opened the Indian championship campaign, finished 34th with a time of 1:39:42 out of 36 runners who finished the race.
Goswami has a season best of 1:38:10 and a personal best of 1:28:45.
Kimberly Garcia Leon (1:26:58) of Peru won gold while Katarzyna Zdzieblo (1:27:31) of Poland and Shijie Qieyang (1:27:56) of China took silver and bronze respectively.
The 36-year-old Kumar was even worse in 40th place out of 43 runners who finished the race, with a time of 1:31:58. He has a season best of 1:22:05 and a personal best of 1:20:16.
Toshikazu Yamanishi (1:19:07) and Koki Ikeda (1:19:14) of Japan won gold and silver, respectively, while Perseus Karlstrom (1:19:18) of Sweden won bronze.

Source link


News5s: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button