WhatsApp may soon let users see past group participants, here’s how it looks
Soon you will be able to view previous participants in a WhatsApp Coporation, group. The Meta-owned instant messaging app, WhatsApp is working on a new “View Past Participants” feature that will show users old group members.
WABetaInfo reports that the “View Past Participants” feature is rolling out to users with the WhatsApp beta for iOS 184.108.40.206 via TestFlight. This feature allows one to view previous participants who have left the previous group. Users can view participants who have been removed or left out of the group in the last 60 days.
Not an ‘admin-only’ feature
This feature is not limited to group admins; everyone joining the group can see the list of old participants using “See previous participants“. However, notifications about someone leaving or being removed from the group will no longer be visible to everyone in the chat except the group admin.
Earlier this year, the same feature was found in WhatsApp for Android. However, the feature is named “See previous participants” instead of “View past participants”. This feature was discovered in the WhatsApp beta for Android Version 220.127.116.11.
There is no word on when this feature will roll out to the stable version of WhatsApp. But we can expect to see this feature soon as WhatsApp has been constantly adding new features lately.
WhatsApp recently brought the delete messages feature to everyone in groups in a beta build. This feature allows admins to delete group messages for everyone involved.