The first meeting of the Minimum Support Price Committee may be on August 22: Report

The first meeting of the Minimum Support Price Committee may be on August 22: Report

The first meeting of the Committee on Minimum Support Price will be held on August 22

New Delhi:

The Committee on Minimum Support Price (MSP) is scheduled to hold its first meeting on August 22 to discuss future strategies, according to official sources.

The meeting will be held at 10.30am at the National Agricultural Science Complex (NASC) in the national capital, the sources added.

At its first meeting, sources said the committee would introduce members, weigh in on “future strategy” and discuss the creation of subcommittees to cover the broad issues covered. in reference condition.

Meanwhile, the government is persuading Samyukta Kisan Morcha (SKM) to participate in the commission’s proceedings, it is necessary to see if it changes its mind and nominates three representatives, the sources said. more.

SKM, which requested the establishment of this committee after farmer leaders protested against three agricultural laws and forced the government to repeal them, rejected the commission and decided not to nominate its representative.

While announcing the repeal of three agricultural laws last November, Prime Minister Narendra Modi promised to set up a committee to look into farmers’ MSP issues.

The commission, led by former Agriculture Minister Sanjay Agrawal, was established on July 18 to “promote budget-based zero farming”, to “change” crop patterns keeping in mind the need change the country and make the MSP “more efficient and transparent”.

There are 26 members including the committee chair and three membership positions held exclusively for representatives of SKM.

Committee members include: member Niti Aayog Ramesh Chand, agricultural economists CSC Shekhar from the Indian Institute of Economic Development and Sukhpal Singh from IIM-Ahmedabad and senior member of the Cost and Agricultural Prices (CACP) Naveen P Singh.

Among the farmer representatives, the committee included National Award-winning farmer Bharat Bhushan Tyagi, and five members from other farmer organizations including Gunwant Patil, Krishnaveer Choudhary, Pramod Kumar Choudhary, Guni Prakash and Sayyed Pasha Patel.

Two members of farmer cooperatives and groups – IFFCO President Dilip Sanghani and CNRI Secretary General Binod Anand – were also part of the committee.

Senior members of agricultural universities, five central government secretaries and chief secretaries of Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim and Odisha were also part of the committee.

Source link


News5s: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button