Shashi Tharoor The Best Failed Candidate in Years, Has Bright Spots By Beating Mallikarjun Kharge

Shashi Tharoor has a number to flaunt despite failing in the congressional contest

Shashi Tharoor received almost 12% of the valid votes in one-on-one with Mallikarjun Kharge.

New Delhi:

Shashi Tharoor’s defeat in the parliamentary speaker polls was not such a shock – Mallikarjun Kharge was nonetheless a favorite with the support of the Gandhis – but he did became the best loser candidate for many years. In absolute numbers and percentages, he received more votes than any of the three losing candidates for the presidency that Congress has seen in the past 25 years.

With 1,072 out of 8,969 valid votes, Shashi Tharoor got almost 11.95% of the valid votes. Mr Kharge won with 7,897. In total, 9,385 votes were polled but the party’s polling panel declared 416 votes invalid due to mis-marking or other such reasons.

The most recent election happened 22 years ago, when Sonia Gandhi was challenged by UP’s Jitendra Prasad. She worked for two years, was chosen unanimously.

Jitendra Prasada managed less than 100 votes – just over 1% of the 7,542 valid votes. It was one on one with Sonia Gandhi, who received 7,448 votes.

There were 7,771 votes polled, but 229 votes were declared invalid.

Jitendra Prasada’s son, Jitin Prasada, went on to become a union minister in the Congress-led UPA government but recently switched to the BJP.

Before Sonia Gandhi joined, Sitaram Kesari’s hold on the party was challenged in 1997. The challengers were Maharashtra leader Sharad Pawar, who later broke away to form his own party, and Rajesh Pilot, the The late leader from Rajasthan has a son, Sachin Pilot, as part of a sideshow in the latest competition.

Out of 7,460 valid votes in that election, Rajesh Pilot came in third with 354 (less than 1%), while Sharad Pawar got 888 (11.9%) – just behind Shashi Tharoor’s score in the election. nearest election. Sitaram Kesri, a freestyle fighter from Bihar, won the contest in 1997 with a whopping 6,224 votes.

But he had to make way for Sonia Gandhi when she agreed to the demands of several leaders to direct the National Assembly and was chosen as president by consensus in 1998. The party was struggling against a BJP was on the rise at the time.

Sonia Gandhi served 19 straight years until her son Rahul Gandhi took the seat in 2017, only to quit after his defeat in the 2019 Lok Sabha election. He insisted that a non-Gandhi took over. job, and also refused to compete for the position. Sonia Gandhi thus became interim leader as the party prepared for the polls that eventually resulted in Mallikarjun Kharge becoming the first non-Gandhi leader in 24 years.

Mr Kharge’s candidacy came after a show of focus on Rajasthan – the Gandhis’ first choice, Ashok Gehlot, was not quite ready to give up the position of Chief Minister of Rajasthan to Sachin Pilot. Once a loyalist, Mr. Kharge stepped in as Ashok Gehlot remained in his status.

Shashi Tharoor, who made some complaints about the polling process, ever since said the contest has strengthened democracy. He was one of the first leaders to call Kharge and take pictures of solidarity.


News5s: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button