Auto Express

Scott Dixon Breaks Extreme Speed ​​Record for Indy 500

Image for article titled Scott Dixon breaks extreme speed record for Indianapolis 500

Photo: Penske Entertainment / Chris Owens

Next Sunday, the world will know who this year’s Indianapolis 500 Champion is. This Sunday, we’ll find out who will lead the field of 33 winning the green flag in the 106th edition of the classic 500 miles.

The twelve fastest drivers from Saturday’s run advanced to Sunday’s two-round penalty shootout for the mainstay spot. Chip Ganassi Racing advanced all five entries on Sunday, Álex Palou, Tony Kanaan, Jimmie Johnson, Marcus Ericsson and Scott Dixon. The best opponents Chevrolet-powered teams can muster to rally against Ganassi-Honda supremacy are the McLarens of Pato O’Ward and Felix Rosenqvist and the Ed Carpenter Racing cars of Rinus VeeKay and team owners Ed Carpenter.

Chip Ganassi Racing was able to advance four of his five cars into a decisive Fast Six session. The two ECR entries will join the four Honda-powered entries. Jimmie Johnson was the only Ganassi driver who did not cross the penalty area. The seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion has at the start of his run. Johnson nearly hit a wall when the back of his car slid on the exit of Turn 1 of the first four laps. Miraculously, he saved the car when his right rear tire hit that wall within a few inches and went on to complete four laps.

Scott Dixon’s usual excellence was on full display Sunday as he qualified for his 20th Indianapolis 500. Dixon is simply someone who is superior to everyone else. His Top Twelve average speed is 233,510, which is fast enough to win a pole. In the Fast Six round, Dixon made history. He won the pole at an average of 234,046 mph over the course of his four laps, a new pole record and the second fastest qualifying run of all time.

The result is the fifth Indy 500 pole of Scott Dixon’s career, placing him in second all-time behind Rick Mears by six pole positions.

Qualifying Results – Top 12

  1. Scott Dixon (234,046 mph)
  2. Alex Palou (233,499 mph)
  3. Rinus VeeKay (233.385 mph)
  4. Ed Carpenter (233.080 mph)
  5. Marcus Ericsson (232,764 mph)
  6. Tony Kanaan (232,372 mph)
  7. Pato O’Ward (232,705 mph)
  8. Felix Rosenqvist (232,182 mph)
  9. Romain Grosjean (231,999 mph)
  10. Takuma Sato (231,670 mph)
  11. Spirit (231,534 mph)
  12. Jimmy Johnson (231.264 mph)

Source link


News5s: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button