Long jumper Shaili Singh wins gold on final day of National Open Championship | Other Sports News

BENGALURU: Shaili Singh achieved a season-high of 6.41m in her last attempt to win the women’s long jump title in her first appearance on the final day of the competition. National Open Athletics Championship on Wednesday.
Her final jump, the second longest jump ever, provided a golden mark for the final day’s proceedings.
18-year-old Uttar Pradesh’s 6.25m opening attempt was better than the 6.22m jumpers Kerala Sruthi Lekshmi and Nayana James managed in six attempts.
At 200 m south, Tamil Nadu’s Ragul Kumar ran his first under-21 second race as he won in 20.87 seconds, the third fastest time by an Indian this year, after 20.52 and 20.55 clocks Amlan Borgohain inside League Cup in April and the National Sports Festival earlier this month.
Murli Kumar Gavit of Gujarat won the men’s 10,000m, his first national crown in four since winning a distance double in Bhubaneswar in September 2018.
Akita Dhyani (Railway) made her first 10,000m race at the national level a memorable one, winning in 34:39.05.
The men’s and women’s 35 km walking events set records for Ram Baboo (Uttar Pradesh) and Payal (Uttarakhand).
Ram Baboo improved his own record by more than seven minutes by winning in 2 hours 29 minutes and 5 seconds. Payal beat record holder Ramandeep Kaur and set last year’s record by more than 10 minutes when he won in 3 hours 4 minutes 48 seconds.
Hammer thrower KM Rachna (Uttar Pradesh) marked her comeback with three attempts over 60m, including a personal time of 63.66m, to beat national record Sarita Romit Singh.
Sarita Singh put the ball and passed over 59.85m and 59.96m to overtake Tanya Chaudhary in the race for second place.
Shot Putter Tajinderpal Singh Toor (Services), with a record of 1162 points, and 100m hurdler Jyothi Yarraji (Railways), with an effort of under 13 seconds worth 1174 points, took the title of Best Athlete respectively. for men and women.
Railways won the all-team championship with 297 points, while Services and host Karnataka finished second and third, with 174 and 69.50 points, respectively.
Service scored all of its points in the men’s events, beating Railways to take the men’s title. The women of the Railways collected 201 points far ahead of Tamil Nadu and Uttar Pradesh.


News5s: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button