From 1900 to 1960 & 1960 to 2022 the best P4P!

Via Ken Hissner: Every boxing fan has their own opinion on who is the best boxer of all time. This article covers “my twelve picks” from 1900 to 2022. I’ll be interested in other people’s choices and comments.

In the 1900-1960 group, for me and most people, “Sugar” Ray Robinson was P4P, the greatest boxer of all time. He won the welterweight title in 1946 and the middleweight title in 1951, 1955, 1957 and 1958.

His final record was 174-19-6 with 109 stops, stopping only in the 1952 light heavyweight championship against champion Joey Maxim.

At the time, he was leading 10-3, 9-3-1 and 7-3-3, unable to play in the fourteenth inning due to exhaustion. Even referee Rudy Goldstein had to be substituted in the 10th half due to the 104-degree heat. He’s from Harlem, New York.

Second on that list was Henry “Homicide Hank” Armstrong, who won the world featherweight title in 1937 and the light and lightweight title in 1938, the only boxer to have ever held three titles together. a time. He finished with a record of 149-21-10 with 99 stops. He has had 26 successful title defenses. He is from Los Angeles, California.

In third was heavyweight champion Joe “The Brown Bomber” Louis, who won the title in 1937 and held it through 1949 with 25 successful title defenses. He finished with a 66-3 record with 52 saves. He’s from Detroit, Michigan.

Fourth is Harry “Pittsburgh Windmill” Greb, who won the middleweight belt in 1923 while blind in one eye. He was the only boxer to defeat eventual heavyweight champion Gene “The Fighting Marine” Tunney, 65-1-1, in 1922 to win the US light heavyweight title. His last record was 108-8-3 with 49 stops. He is from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Fifth is Willie “Will o’ the Wisp” Pep, who won the featherweight belt in 1942 and 1949. He may be the greatest defensive boxer of all time. His final record was 229-11-1 with 65 saves. He’s from Rocky Hill, Connecticut.

Sixth on the list is the only boxer not to win a world title in Sam “The Boston Bonecrusher” Langford, who finished 178-30-38 with 126 saves. Heavyweight champion Jack Dempsey said Langford was the only boxer he feared. He was born in Nova Scotia, Canada, moved to Boston, Massachusetts.

Langford drew a draw with welterweight champion Joe “Barbados Demon” Walcott, 87-15-17, in 1904. He won in 1910 against former middleweight champion Stanley “The Michigan Assassins.” Ketchel, 48-6-3, and in 1911 more than former light heavyweight champion “Philadelphia” Jack O’Brien, 147-13-5.

In the group from 1960 to 2022, the first was heavyweight champion Muhammad “The Greatest” Ali, who won the title in 1964, 1967, 1974 and 1978 after winning the Olympic gold medal in the Division. light heavyweight 1960. He had nineteen successful title defenses. He’s from Louisville, Kentucky.

In second place was Manny “Pac Man” Pacquiao, who won the flyweight title in 1998, the super bantamweight title in 2001, the ultralight and ultralightweight title in 2008, the welterweight title in 2009, 2014, 2016, 2018 and 2019, light welterweight in 2010. England finished with a 62-8-2 record with 39 stops. He is from General Santos City, Cotabato del Sur, Philippines.

In third was Julio “JC” Cesar Chavez, Sr., who won the ultralightweight title in 1984, the lightweight title in 1987 and 1988, and the light welterweight title in 1989, 1990 and 1994. He finished with a record of 107-6-2 with 85 stops. He has had 24 successful title defenses. He is from Culiacan, Sinaloa, Mexico.

Fourth is “Sugar” Ray Leonard, who won the welterweight title in 1979, 1980 and 1981, the light welterweight title in 1981, the middleweight title in 1987, the light heavyweight title and super middleweight in 1988. He won the Olympic lightweight gold medal in 1976. He is from Palmer Park, Maryland.

Fifth is Floyd “Money” Mayweather, Jr., who won the superlightweight title in 1998, the lightweight title in 2002, the lightweight title in 2005, the middleweight title in 2006, 2011, 2014, 2015 and the 2007, 2012 , and 2013 lightweight middleweight title. He successfully defended his title twenty-six times. His final record was 50-0 with 27 saves. He is a 1996 Olympic bronze medalist. He is from Las Vegas, Nevada.

Sixth is Oscar “Golden Boy” De La Hoya, who won the super featherweight title in 1994, the lightweight title in 1994 and 1995, the lightweight title in 1996, and the lightweight title in 1997 and 2000, light welterweight titles in 2001, 2002 and 2006 and the middleweight title in 2004. His final record was 39-6 with 30 stops. He is a 1992 Olympic gold medalist.

All twelve have been inducted into the International Boxing Hall of Fame.

YouTube Videos

Source link


News5s: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button