First Southpaw Champion in Boxing History!

Via Ken Hissner: This is all about the Southpaws that no one wants to fight. It is very difficult to get Southpaw’s matchmaking partners to prepare against the opponent.

Heavyweight champion Michael “Double M” Moorer, 52-4-1 with 40 saves in Monessen, Pennsylvania, won the title in April 1994. He won a decisive majority against Evander “The Real Deal” Holyfield, January 30, at Caesars Palace, in Las Vegas.

It was short in his first defense in November, losing to 45-year-old former champion “Big” George Foreman. I can still see Teddy Atlas putting the phone in his face during a fight, saying it was a family member calling him. He used to be the WBO light heavyweight champion.

A member of the Flathead tribe, Marvin Camel of Missoula, Montana, became the first cruiser class champion to defeat Mate Parlov, 24-2-2, of Croatia, in March 1980 at Caesars Palace, Las Vegas .

George “Johnny” Nichols, 82-32-11, wins the NBA World Championship defeating David Maier, 21-2-1, at the Chicago Stadium, Chicago, IL, in March 1932.

Graciano “Rocky” Rocchigiani of Italy, 41-6-1, won the IBF Super Middleweight belt defeating Vincent Boulware, 19-1, in March 1988. He would go on to claim the light heavyweight belt.

Al McCoy of Brooklyn, New York, won the middleweight belt against George Chip, 43-23-9, in April 1914 in Brooklyn, New York.

Maurice Hope of Great Britain won the WBC Super Welterweight belt, stopping Italy’s Rocky Mattioli, 53-4-2, in San Remo, Italy. In the rematch in England, he stopped Mattioli again.

Italy’s Corbett III youth team won the weight division championship after defeating Fred Apostoli, 29-2, in February 1938, in San Francisco. In November, he lost the rematch.

Italian 1960 Olympic silver medalist Sandro Lopopolo, 58-10-7, won the lightweight title by majority decision against Carlos Hernandez, 39-5, in Roma, Italy.

Juan Zurita of Mexico, 131-23-1, won the lightweight championship in March 1944, defeating Sammy Angott, 73-18-6, in LA

Flash Elorde, 89-27-2, of the Philippines, won the featherweight super belt knocking out Harold Gomes, 48-5, in March 1960 in the first round at Cow Palace in California. In 1966, he was stopped in the fourteenth round by my all-time favorite boxer, world lightweight champion Carlos Ortiz.

Freddie Miller, 184-29-5, won the Abbie Israel featherweight belt, 54-11-5, in July 1933, at the Ice Arena in Seattle.

Wilfredo “Bazooka” Gomez of Puerto Rico, 44-3-1, won the super bantamweight title by defeating Dong Kyun Yum, 50-2-6, in San Juan, Puerto Rico, in May 1977. He will go on to win featherweight and superweight titles.

Jimmy Carruthers of Australia, 21-4, won the bantamweight belt defeating Vic Toweel, 26-1-1, in March 1953 in South Africa.
Jiro Watanabe of Japan, 26-2, wins the world super flyweight championship defeating Rafael Pedroza of Panama, 19-7-1, in Osaka, Japan.

Japan’s Hiroyuki Eibihara, 62-5-1, wins the flyweight belt knocking out Thailand’s Pone Kingpetch, 26-4, in the first round, in Tokyo, Japan, in September 1963.

Yoko Gushikin of Japan won the flyweight lightweight belt, knocking out Sang Il Jung of South Korea, 8-2-2, in October 1978 in Tokyo, Japan.

Videos on YouTube

Source link


News5s: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button